MenuProduct searchSearch
Home » Simply Open Blog » V4LM – Fill level measurement with 10 functions

V4LM – Fill level measurement with 10 functions

Multi function level monitoring in compact housing by TELE

Auf einen Blick

The new V4LM electrode relay from TELE for level monitoring in conductive fluids combines 10 different functions in one very compact device. It monitors the level of a fluid via probes, which are directly immersed. Depending on the function selected, the V4LM controls the pumping in and pumping out as well as the running dry and overflow alarm. The device is utilized wherever observing a defined fill level represents an important criterion for the function, efficiency and safety. It protects machines and systems from leakage damage, fluid loss as well as running dry or overflow.

V4LM-Füllstandsmessung

Function

Unlike float switches, the TELE V4LM has no moving parts and thus has a high service life. In contrast to ultrasonic and radar measurements, the device is resistant to contamination, dust, foam and mist in the containers. With extremely low probe voltage, small measuring currents and a large sensitivity window from 0.25 to 500 kOhm, the fill level measurement is suitable for feed applications and does not endanger the animals. The selected measuring frequency of 18.3 Hz enables an extremely robust measurement without interference (no harmonics to mains frequency 50 or 60 Hz). In addition, the alternating current measurement prevents the build-up of oxyhydrogen gas as well as electrolytic disintegration of the probes, which can occur with comparable devices with direct current measurement.

Additional value

  • Unlike float switches, no moving parts and thus has a high service life.
  • In contrast to ultrasonic and radar measurements, resistant to contamination, dust, foam and mist in the containers.
  • Robust measurement without interferences.
  • Prevents the build-up of oxyhydrogen gas as well as electrolytic disintegration of the probes.

Application fields

  • Leakage damage, fluid loss as well as running dry or overflow of pumps or machines.
  • Well control.
  • Disposal, waste water and swimming pool technology.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Agriculture.

 

The functions in detail [1-10]

[1] Pumping in or [2] pumping out with min/max alarm 
1 container, 4 probes, 1 pump

The fill level is kept between the levels of probes E2 and E3 by pumping in and pumping out. Probes E1 and E4 are used for the overflow as well as the dry alarm. Both of these functions are used when fluid is taken from the container by the user process while preventing the container from running dry, or when the container is filled by the user process while keeping it from overflowing.

Pumping in and pumping out (bidirectional) with [3] min or [4] max alarm – The fill level is kept between the levels of probes E1 and E3, or E2 and E4 by pumping in and pumping out. The min alarm function [3] is used when dry running is desired as an alarm criterion (probe E4) and when filling as well as removal takes place through the user process. The max alarm function [4] is used when overflow is desired as an alarm criterion (probe E1) and when filling as well as removal takes place through the user process.

[5] Pumping in or [6] pumping out for two independent containers

2 containers, 1-4 probes, 1-2 pumps
Pumping in or pumping out between probes E1-E2 or E3-E4. (alternatively also control around just one probe). This function enables level control in two separate containers with just one device. It is also possible to control cascades. No alarms.

 Pump switch function, [7] pumping in or [8] pumping out

1 container, 2 probes, 2 pumps
Pumping in between control probes E1 and E2. The V4LM functions as an intelligent pump switch (for similar use) with pump monitoring. In the event of a pump fault, the remaining pump is permanently prioritized and an alarm is output. This pumping in or pumping out function is used when the system has two redundant pumps.

[9] Well control

1 well, 1 elevated tank, 3 probes, 1 pump
This function serves to supply water via an elevated tank and well (pumping in water from well into the elevated tank). Alarm functions: well alarm (well dry) and dry alarm (elevated tank as well as well without water).

[10] Gray code output for connection to PLC
1-4 containers, 1-4 probes, PLC control
The probe states are output via the three output relays using gray coding. So for one container up to four fill levels can be evaluated, for instance via PLC control.
If only one probe is installed per container, up to four containers can be monitored for overflow / running dry (without assigning which container sends the alarm).

Mario Lenotti
Mario Lenotti Innovation

Can I help you?

Please contact me!

More interesting applications

MenüProdukt-SucheSuche
Home » Simply Open Blog » V4LM – Füllstandsmessung mit 10 Funktionen

V4LM – Füllstandsmessung mit 10 Funktionen

Multiunktions-Level-Monitoring von TELE in kompaktem Gehäuse

Auf einen Blick

Das neue Elektrodenrelais V4LM von TELE zur Niveau-Überwachung in leitenden Flüssigkeiten vereint 10 verschiedene Funktionen in einem sehr kompakten Gerät. Es überwacht den Stand einer Flüssigkeit über Sonden, die direkt eingetaucht werden. Je nach gewählter Funktion steuert das V4LM so das Zu- und Abpumpen sowie Trocken- und Überlaufalarm. Das Gerät kommt überall dort zum Einsatz, wo die Einhaltung eines definierten Füllstands ein wichtiges Kriterium für die Funktion, Effizienz und Sicherheit darstellt. Es schützt Maschinen und Anlagen vor Leckschäden, Flüssigkeitsverlust sowie Trocken- oder Überlauf.

V4LM-Füllstandsmessung

Funktion

Mit extrem geringer Sondenspannung und kleinen Mess-Strömen, bei einem gleichzeitig großen Sensitivitätsfenster von 0,25 bis 500 kOhm, kann die Füllstandsmessung gut für Fütterungsanwendungen eingesetzt werden und gefährdet die Tiere nicht. Durch Wahl der Messfrequenz von 18,3 Hz ermöglicht es eine äußerst robuste Messung ohne Störeinflüsse (keine Harmonische zu Netzfrequenz 50 bzw. 60 Hz). Die Wechselstrommessung vermeidet darüber hinaus auch Knallgasbildung sowie elektrolytische Zersetzung der Sonde, die bei vergleichbaren Geräten mit Gleichstrom-Messung auftreten können.

Mehrwert

  • Im Gegensatz zu Schwimmerschaltern keine beweglichen Teile und dadurch eine hohe Lebensdauer.
  • Anders als bei Ultraschall- und Radarmessungen robust gegen Verschmutzungen, Staub, Schaum, Nebel in den Behältern.
  • Robuste Messung ohne Störeinflüsse.
  • Keine Knallgasbildung sowie keine Zersetzung der Sonde.

Einsatzgebiete

  • Leckschäden, Flüssigkeitsverlust sowie Trocken- oder Überlauf bei Maschinen und Pumpen.
  • Brunnensteuerung.
  • Entsorgungs-, Abwasser- und Schwimmbadtechnik.
  • Chemische Industrie.
  • Landwirtschaft.

 

Die Funktionen im Detail [1-10]

[1] Zupumpen oder [2] Abpumpen mit Min-/Max-Alarm 
1 Behälter, 4 Sonden, 1 Pump

Der Füllstand wird durch Zu- bzw. Abpumpen zwischen den Levels der Sonde E2 und E3 gehalten. Die Sonden E1 und E4 dienen dem Überlauf- sowie dem Trockenalarm. Diese beiden Funktionen kommen zum Einsatz, wenn durch den Anwenderprozess Flüssigkeit aus dem Behälter entnommen wird und dieser nicht trocken laufen soll bzw. wenn der Behälter durch den Anwenderprozess befüllt wird und nicht überlaufen soll.

Zu- und Abpumpen (bidirektional) mit [3] Min- bzw. [4] Max-Alarm
1 Behälter, 4 Sonden, 2 Pumpen

Der Füllstand wird durch Zu- und Abpumpen zwischen den Levels der Sonden E1 und E3 bzw. E2 und E4 gehalten. Die Min-Alarm-Funktion [3] kommt zum Einsatz, wenn Trockenlauf als Alarmkriterium (Sonde E4) erwünscht ist und durch den Anwenderprozess Befüllung als auch Entnahme erfolgt. Die Max-Alarm-Funktion [4] kommt zum Einsatz, wenn Überlauf als Alarmkriterium (Sonde E1) erwünscht ist und durch den Anwenderprozess Befüllung als auch Entnahme erfolgt.

[5] Zupumpen oder [6] Abpumpen für zwei unabhängige Behälter
2 Behälter, 1-4 Sonden, 1-2 Pumpen

Zu- bzw. Abpumpen zwischen den Sonden E1-E2 bzw. E3-E4. (alternativ auch Steuerung um nur eine Sonde). Diese Funktion ermöglicht die Pegelsteuerung in zwei separaten Behältern mit nur einem Gerät. Es ist auch die Steuerung von Kaskaden möglich. Keine Alarme.

Pumpenwechselfunktion, [7] Zupumpen oder [8] Abpumpen
1 Behälter, 2 Sonden, 2 Pumpen

Zupumpen zwischen den Regelsonden E1 und E2. Das V4LM fungiert als intelligenter Pumpenwechsler (für gleichmäßige Verwendung) mit Pumpenüberwachung. Im Fehlerfall einer Pumpe wird dauerhaft die verbleibende Pumpe priorisiert und ein Alarm ausgegeben. Diese Zupump- bzw. Abpump-Funktion kommt zum Einsatz, wenn die Anlage über zwei redundante Pumpen verfügt.

[9] Brunnensteuerung
1 Brunnen, 1 Hochbehälter, 3 Sonden, 1 Pumpe

Die Funktion dient der Wasserversorgung mittels Hochbehälter und Brunnen (Zupumpen vom Brunnen in den Hochbehälter). Alarmfunktionen: Brunnenalarm (Brunnen trocken) und Trockenalarm (Hochbehälter als auch Brunnen ohne Wasser).

[10] Graycode-Ausgabe zur Anbindung an SPS
1-4 Behälter, 1-4 Sonden, SPS-Steuerung

Über die drei Ausgangsrelais werden die Sondenzustände mittels Graycodierung ausgegeben. So sind für einen Behälter bis zu vier Füllstandlevels auswertbar, z.B. durch eine SPS-Steuerung.
Wird pro Behälter nur eine Sonde verbaut, können bis zu vier Behälter auf Über- / Trockenlauf überwacht werden (ohne Zuweisung, welcher Behälter den Alarm sendet).

Mario Lenotti
Mario Lenotti Innovation

Kann ich Ihnen helfen?

Finden Sie nicht, wonach Sie suchen? Zögern Sie nicht, mich zu kontaktieren!

Spannende Anwendungen von TELE