MenuProduct searchSearch
Home » Simply Open » Simply Open Blog » Nasa Space Apps Challenge 2019 @ Factory Hub Vienna

Nasa Space Apps Challenge 2019 @ Factory Hub Vienna

Develop breakthrough technologies together – all over the world, across all borders

From 19 to 21 October 2019, the NASA Space Apps Challenge took place It is the world’s largest hackathon in 80 countries and around 200 cities. Hosts for the Viennese event this year were TELE Haase Steuergeräte and the Factory Hub Vienna in the 23rd district. For two days, around 80 adults, children and adolescents participated in the event in order to jointly develop ideas and applications for the world of tomorrow.

More than 35 adult visionaries formed a total of seven teams and spent two days exploring the challenge of designing apps and projects in various categories such as “Set your sights high,” “Warming planet, cool ideas,” or “The trans neptunian highway.” ,

Meanwhile, with the help of Florian Bittner and his “Blinkenrockets” DIY electronics kit, children and adolescents practiced in the assembly, soldering and programming of printed circuit boards. In the end, each child could take home their own custom flashing mini rocket.

Seven projects between earth and space

The adult participants met at the Factory Hub Vienna at TELE to get new ideas on given NASA topics. On the first day of the Space Apps Challenge, they spontaneously formed seven different teams and, with the support of mentors (including the ESA, the Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology and the Austrian Space Forum), plunged immediately into practical development. In this way, within just two days, these seven concrete projects emerged from a multitude of visionary thoughts:

  • Major Tom – an app of The Phoenix Foundation for learning about satellites playfully.
  • #decarbnow – an interactive map that shows NO2 pollution hotspots using satellite data.
  • To Neptune … and beyond! A detailed journey planning to the limits of our solar system – including cost accounting.
  • Dust yourself off – An integrated airlock for spaceships with automatic dust detection and removal.
  • Stimdeck – Virtual reality simulations with feel-good earth scenarios as a relaxing break for stressed-out astronauts.
  • Stratonet – “Internet on the Ocean” via pseudo-satellites in the form of solar airships.
  • Wakaya – Video game that uses NASA Earth data.

Local winners compete internationally

After two labor-intensive days of tinkering, laughing and programming, the NASA Space App Challenge teams presented their projects to a panel of experts. The apps “Major Tom” and “#decarbnow” emerged victorious from the national Austrian NASA Space App Challenge and attendees could win great prizes, such as tickets for the VIP Flight Simulator in the Airbus A320 or in the Helicopter Bell 206 flight simulator at the Vienna Airport.

Great participants and sponsors

Factory Hub Vienna and TELE Haase are excited about the dedication and enthusiasm of the many young participants who have inspired us all. We are pleased that we had the chance to host the NASA Space App Challenge 2019 and are looking forward to the results of the international Challenge.

Many thanks also to our great sponsors Science Park Graz, #ESABICAT, BMVIT Infothek, #Arctur, 4D solutions, Austrian Space Forum / Austrian Space Forum, FFG research is working, #NÖM, Vienna Flight, Vienna Factory, Vienna Airport – Vienna Airport!

To NASA Seite

The Challenge in pics

We are constantly working on improving our website for you. Support us by agreeing to the use of cookies. More Info

MenüProdukt-SucheSuche
Startseite » Simply Open » Simply Open Blog » Nasa Space Apps Challenge 2019 @ Factory Hub Vienna

Nasa Space Apps Challenge 2019 @ Factory Hub Vienna

Gemeinsam bahnbrechende Technologien entwickeln – weltweit über alle Grenzen hinweg

Vom 19. Bis 21. Oktober 2019 fand mit der NASA Space Apps Challenge der weltweit größte Hackathon in 80 Ländern und rund 200 Städten statt. Host für die Wiener Veranstaltung waren in diesem Jahr TELE Haase Steuergeräte und das Factory Hub Vienna im 23. Bezirk. An zwei Tagen beteiligten sich im Rahmen der Veranstaltung rund 80 Erwachsene, Kinder und Jugendliche, um gemeinsam Ideen und Applikationen für die Welt von morgen zu entwickeln.

Mehr als 35 erwachsene Visionäre und Visionärinnen bildeten insgesamt sieben Teams und stellten sich zwei Tage lang der Herausforderung, Apps und Projekte in verschiedenen Kategorien, wie „Set your sights high“, „Warming planet, cool ideas“ oder „The trans neptunian highway“ auszutüfteln.

Kinder und Jugendliche übten sich währenddessen mit Hilfe von Florian Bittner und seinem „Blinkenrockets“-DIY-Electronik-Kit im Bestücken, Löten und Programmieren von Leiterplatten. Am Ende konnte jedes Kind seine selbst gefertigte, individuell blinkende Mini-Rakete mit nach Hause nehmen.

Sieben Projekte zwischen Erde und All

Die erwachsenen Teilnehmer trafen sich im Factory Hub Vienna bei TELE, um zu vorgegebenen NASA-Themen neue Ideen greifbar zu machen. Am ersten Tag der Space Apps Challenge bildete sie spontan sieben verschiedene Teams und stürzten sich mit der Unterstützung von Mentoren (unter anderem von der ESA, dem Ministerium für Transport, Innovation und Technologie sowie dem Austrian Space Forum), sofort in die praktische Entwicklung. Auf diese Weise entstanden innerhalb von nur zwei Tagen aus einer Vielzahl von visionären Gedanken diese sieben konkreten Projekte:

  • Major Tom – eine App für das spielerische Lernen von Informationen über Satelliten von der Gruppe The Phoenix Foundation.
  • #decarbnow – eine interaktive Karte, die NO2-Verschmutzungs-Hotspots anhand von Satellitendaten sichtbar macht.
  • To Neptune…and beyond! – Eine detaillierte Planung der Reise zu den Grenzen unseres Sonnensystems – inklusive Kostenrechnung.
  • Dust yourself off – Eine integrierte Luftschleuse für Raumschiffe mit automatischer Stauberkennung und -entfernung.
  • Stimdeck – Virtual-Reality-Simulationen mit Wohlfühl-Erd-Szenarien als entspannende Auszeit für gestresste Astronauten.
  • Stratonet – “Internet on the Ocean” via Pseudo-Satelliten in Form von Solar-Luftschiffen.
  • Wakaya – Videospiel, das NASA-Erddaten nutzt.

Lokale Sieger treten international an

Nach zwei arbeitsintensiven Tagen, in denen viel getüftelt, gelacht und programmiert wurde, präsentierten die Teams der NASA Space App Challenge ihre Projekte vor einer Fachjury. Die Apps „Major Tom“ und „#decarbnow“ gingen als Sieger aus der nationalen österreichischen NASA Space App Challenge hervor, und die Teilnehmer konnten sich über tolle Preise, wie etwa Tickets für den VIP Flugsimulator im Airbus A320 oder im Flugsimulator Helicopter Bell 206 am Flughafen Wien freuen.

Großartige Teilnehmer/Teilnehmerinnen und Sponsoren

TELE Haase und das Factory Hub Vienna sind begeistert über das Engagement und die Begeisterung der vielen jungen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die uns alle inspiriert haben. Wir freuen uns, dass die die NASA Space App Challenge 2019 hosten durften und sind schon gespannt auf die Ergebnisse der internationalen Challenge.

Vielen Dank auch an unsere tollen Sponsoren Science Park Graz, #ESABICAT, BMVIT Infothek, #Arctur, 4D solutions, Österreichisches Weltraum Forum / Austrian Space Forum, FFG Forschung wirkt., #NÖM, Vienna Flight, Factory Hub Vienna, Flughafen Wien – Vienna Airport!

Zur NASA Seite

Die Challenge in Bildern

Wir arbeiten fortlaufend daran, unsere Website für Sie zu verbessern. Helfen Sie uns dabei, indem Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zustimmen. Weitere Details