MenuProduct searchSearch
Home » Simply Open Blog » Industry meets Makers – Expert Talk@TELE

Industry meets Makers – Expert Talk@TELE

Over 100 guests attended Sandra Stromberger's first Industry Meets Makers Expert Talk event @TELE Haase.

How large companies learn to be innovative again from startups

What makes a successful co-creation and collaboration process? This question is highly topical. And was especially pertinent to the around 100 guests invited to Sandra Stromberger’s first Industry Meets Makers Expert Talk event @TELE Haase on July 14, 2016. The perfect setting for the event was the TELE production hall. Whoever was in search of partners this evening was sure to find them here, because the list of entrepreneurs present was long.

To begin with, a brief overview of the status of the project was given to the partners and supporters of Industry Meets Makers, including, among others, the Vienna Business Agency, Wien Energie, DigitalCity.Wien, IoT Austria, T-Mobile, Copa Data, the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, and Greiner Group.

Those who always wanted to know how enterprises and startups are able to most easily come to the table, what there is to be done, and if there are worlds between the old and new corporate culture, and who would benefit from such cooperation, came to the subsequent twin conference and so-called “lightning talks” between enterprises, intermediaries, and startups, and they surely got their money’s worth. Short and sweet and quite frank and humorous, “young guns and old-timers” spoke of the successes and challenges of their cooperation.

The event was fun and exciting, and our network gained a great new node. A big thank you to Eva and her organization team!!!

The Meeting Paper, with an overview of the contributions from the event is available here for download.

The source of all pictures: Linse2

Meeting Paper download
  • Industry meets makers
  • Industry meets makers
  • TELE Organisation
  • Industry meets makers
  • Industry meets makers

The big ones on the search for innovation

T-Mobile provides startups with, for example, its IoT Box as a starting point for a “proof of concept” of their ideas. The box contains an M2M module with various standard interfaces (GPIO, Bluetooth) in order to connect sensors or machines/devices. The acquired data is then transferred via the integrated SIM card to a cloud system.

“We were surprised at how many young people deal with our ideas, and we very quickly become acquainted with some very exciting people,” enthusiastically stated Matthias Fiegl from T-Mobile.

Research institutions are also very interested in economic cooperation. “We want to try something new. Away from the classical research. Here at Industry Meets Makers we can find many new and good ideas and opportunities for collaboration,” explains Stefan Vielguth of the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology.

Wien Energie is also open to new ideas. “As an energy supplier, we are constantly looking for exciting projects with future potential. We quickly realized that we need the support of young, innovative Makers,” explains Lorena Skiljan, regarding Wien Energie’s approach.

TELE and its startups

“We are a 53-year old company, which invests in what it does well. We are good at developing products and bringing them to maturity. Startups can have good innovation, so we bring them in-house. This has now been working with Twingz for 2.5 years and with Freygeist for 1.5 years – sometimes great, sometimes less great,”

smirks Markus Stelzmann from the management of TELE Haase. One must be aware that two different corporate cultures come together in such a cooperation. We are used to working with product requirements/specifications. Startups have an idea and just go for it without a plan. This can be rather unsettling for our developers,” Stelzmann continues. “At first, our specifications existed only orally,” laughs Stephan Hebenstreit of Freygeist. “Explicit documentation does not fit the character of a startup, which wants to experiment and make rapid changes in a relatively short sequence of trial and error,” adds Werner Weihs-Sedivy of Twingz. The “clash of cultures” between TELE and the startups is now well under control, and all benefit greatly from the cooperation. “It was particularly great for us that we could go to TELE with their in-house production to make the step up from prototype to a small series run. We had to define a lot of things, which takes time, but also brings as an advantage greater clarity for, e.g., an investor pitch,” explains Weihs-Sedivy.

On both the technical and human levels you can meet and learn. Processes become more straightforward. With us, in this way, a product came out which works,” said Hebenstreit.

“And we have learned from our startup’s flexibility. Flexibility that we need in a world that is becoming more adaptable. Now, we also try simple things and learn something new every day in the course of doing so,” concludes Stelzmann.

Tapping unused parking spaces

Microtronics networks devices with the internet “Machine to web” and supports startups, together with the incubator Technology Startup Center, in their implementation of clever ideas. “In the first phase, it is mostly about finding a business,” explains Martin Buber of Microtronics.

“Our focus areas are IoT and M2M concepts, and we make young guns with good ideas startup-ready in four months, so that they can demonstrate their product to crowdfunding, investors, etc.,”

said Buber. One success story is maybe that of Payuca, a startup that has taken to the challenge of the parking problem in the city. “With our system, we open up parking spaces that lie dormant on private land behind locked gates. In order to get a parking place, you just need our app and a positive credit balance, find a suitable parking site via the app, navigate to the location, open the private gate via Bluetooth, BLE, NFC, drive in, and park on the branded parking space. The billing is done automatically,” explains Viktor Schaider of Payuca.

From fish and plants

An age of almost 150 years is no protection against innovation. Which is why global plastics company Greiner Technology and Innovation, with 9,000 employees worldwide, also cooperates with startups. We live by the motto ‘Plastics for Life’ and are interested in entirely new areas, such as aquaponics,” says Hannes Moeseneder from Greiner. Gert Zechner from the startup Ponganic explains what aquaponics is.

“Aquaponics is an ancient cultural technique that has recently been rediscovered, by which the excretions of fish are used as fertilizer for vegetable production without soil. The water is filtered and in turn passes to the fish. What makes this unique: It creates a closed circuit, which can also be installed in a modern apartment building. Soon the first aquaponic system will be integrated into a house in Vienna, and together with apartments, co-working space, Fab Lab, market hall and restaurant, will act as a showcase for a new ecosystem,” said an excited Zechner.

Autonomous living

Theresa Steininger from Wohnwagon has made climate change her subject. “The average European possesses 10,000 items. To continue to meet the current resource consumption rate, we would need two Earths by 2030. What do you really need for a good life?

What could future living look like? We develop self-sufficiency modules, closed circuits, container homes, tiny houses, and single-family homes.

How is that possible? With a photovoltaic system and based on IoT, with intelligent control dependent on the weather. We have also developed a separate biological toilet that purifies water and re-feeds it into the circuit. Our houses and containers are built only with natural materials, preferably with regional partners,” says Steininger.

In Space and on Earth

“We want to save the world. Therefore, we have partnered with the European Space Agency and help them measure aerosols in the atmosphere. A satellite measures the reflected solar radiation. Our algorithm converts this to images. In this way, impacts of aerosols can be calculated and forecasts are produced. We are also a software partner of HTT Hyperloop Transportation Technologies, who are working to develop a kind of pneumatic tube system to transport people at more than 1,200 km/h. We want only the best staff. Therefore, we organize an annual Coding Contest and also run a Startup Incubator,” says Mario Luef, clearly setting out the vision of Catalysts.

IoT and Fashion

“Sticklett combines fashion with IT and IoT. We have developed a ladybug, which concerned parents can put directly on the clothes of their babies and children. The ladybug is equipped with sensors that measure vital signs such as temperature, respiration, heart rate, and movement, and communicate via Smartphone. If the child has problems with breathing or a fever, the system issues an alarm,” explains Michaela Schicho of Sticktlett.

How big and small come together

AAIA – Austrian Angel Investors Association

The AAIA – Austrian Angel Investors Association is a network of Business Angel Investors and large companies, such as Post AG. We facilitate co-investment in startups. Education is also an important point. So we teach startups how to apply and present. We then connect promising startups with investors. The ideal here is the triple construct: Established Company – Startup – Business Angel,” explains Lisa-Marie Fassl of AAIA.

Whataventure

Whataventure also aids in networking and growth. “We guide startups. Startups are innovative and fast. Corporates can scale well, but are not so good at innovation. Startups can be quite innovative and seek scaling. And they have a passion for a subject and require visibility/publicity. That is why it is so exciting when corporates and startups work together. We support them in this,” explains Lisa Pecnik of Whataventure.

Vienna Business Agency

Corporates and startups can find another useful partner in the Vienna Business Agency. “The Business Agency offers a Co-Creation Lab Program and searches for other interested companies. Our submissions phase lasts until 8/19. Then a four-step process begins, whereby medium and large enterprises can submit challenges, which are then appraised by a sounding board. Thereafter, the formulated challenges are published. Afterwards, innovative technology companies are invited to submit their solutions. The Business Agency assists in finding the project partner, preparing the project plan, and also in the implementation of the project and relevant funding opportunities,” explains Georg Sedlbauer from the Business Agency about the program.

Whataventure

Do you have questions for us about iMM? We're happy to answer them.

Contact us!

;

MenüProdukt-SucheSuche
Home » Simply Open Blog » Industry meets Makers – Expert Talk@TELE

Industry meets Makers – Expert Talk@TELE

Über 100 Gäste folgten der Einladung von Sandra Stromberger zum ersten Industry meets Makers Expert Talk@TELE Haase.

Wie große Unternehmen von Startups lernen, wieder innovativ zu sein

Was macht einen gelungenen Co-Creation und Kollaborationsprozess aus? Diese Frage ist brandaktuell. Und sie beschäftigt offenbar gerade auch die rund 100 Gäste, die am 14. Juli 2016 der Einladung von Sandra Stromberger zum ersten Industry meets Makers Expert Talk@TELE Haase folgten. Den passenden Rahmen für die Veranstaltung bildete die TELE-Produktionshalle. Wer an diesem Abend auf der Suche nach Kooperationspartner war, wurde hier mit Sicherheit fündig, denn die Liste der anwesenden Entrepeneure war lang.

Zu Beginn gaben die ProjektpartnerInnen und Unterstützer/innen von Industry meets makers, unter anderem von der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien, Wien Energie, der DigitalCity.Wien, IoT-Austria, T-Mobile, Copa Data, dem AIT Austrian Institute of Technology und der Greiner Gruppe einen kurzen Einblick in den Stand des Projekts.

Wer immer schon wissen wollte, wie Enterprises und Startups am einfachsten an einen Tisch kommen, was zu tun ist, wenn zwischen der alten und neuen Unternehmenskultur Welten liegen und wer überhaupt von so einer Kooperation profitiert, der kam in den anschließenden Doppelconferencen und Lightning Talks von Enterprises, Vermittlern und Startups voll auf seine Kosten. Kurz und knackig und durchaus ehrlich und launig erzählten die „jungen und alten Hasen“ über Erfolge und Herausforderungen ihrer Zusammenarbeit.

Die Veranstaltung war kurzweilig und spannend und unser Netzwerk hat tolle neue Knoten bekommen. Ein großes Dankeschön auch an Eva und ihr Organisationsteam!!!

Das Meeting Paper mit einem Überblick zu den Beiträgen der Veranstaltung steht hier zum Download zur Verfügung.

Quelle alle Bilder: Linse2

Meeting Paper downloaden
  • Industry meets makers
  • Industry meets makers
  • TELE Organisation
  • Industry meets makers
  • Industry meets makers

Die Großen auf der Suche nach der Innovation

T-Mobile bietet Startups beispielsweise seine IoT-Box als Ausgangspunkt für ein „Proof of concept“ ihrer Ideen. Die Box enthält ein M2M-Modul mit verschiedenen Standard-Schnittstellen (GPIO, Bluetooth), um Sensoren oder Maschinen/Geräte anzubinden. Die gewonnenen Daten werden über die integrierte SIM-Karte in ein Cloud-System übertragen.

„Wir waren überrascht, wie viele junge Menschen sich mit unseren Ideen beschäftigen und wir haben sehr schnell, sehr spannende Menschen kennengelernt“, freut sich Matthias Fiegl von T-Mobile.

Auch Forschungseinrichtungen sind sehr interessiert an Wirtschaftskooperation. „Wir wollen etwas Neues ausprobieren. Abseits der klassischen Forschung. Hier bei Industry meets Makers finden wir viele neue und gute Ideen und Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit“, erklärt Stefan Vielguth vom AIT Austrian Institute of Technology.

Offen für Neues ist auch die Wien Energie. „Als Energieversorger sind wir ständig auf der Suche nach spannenden Projekten mit Zukunftspotenzial. Uns war schnell klar, dass wir dafür junge, innovative Makers brauchen, die uns dabei unterstützen“, erläutert Lorena Skiljan von Wien Energie ihren Ansatz.

TELE und seine Startups

„Wir sind eine 53 Jahre alte Firma, die in das investiert, was sie gut kann. Wir können gut Produkte entwickeln und zur Reife bringen. Startups können gut innovativ sein, deshalb holen wir sie uns ins Haus. Das funktioniert nun mit Twingz seit 2,5 Jahren und Freygeist seit 1,5 Jahren – manchmal toll, manchmal weniger toll“,

schmunzelt Markus Stelzmann, Regie bei TELE Haase. Man muss sich im Klaren sein, dass bei so einer Kooperation zwei verschiedene Firmenkulturen zusammen kommen. Wir waren gewohnt mit Pflichten-/Lastenheft zu arbeiten. Startups haben eine Idee und machen einfach mal. Da werden unsere Entwickler dann leicht unrund“, so Stelzmann weiter. „Bei uns gab’s Pflichtenheft/Lastenheft eher verbal“ lacht von Stephan Hebenstreit von Freygeist. „Expliziertes Dokumentieren passt nicht zum Charakter eines Startups, das experimentiert und rasch Änderungen machen muss in relativ kurzer Abfolge von Trial & Error“, ergänzt Werner Weihs-Sedivy von Twingz. Den ‚Clash of cultures’ haben TELE und die Startups aber mittlerweile gut im Griff und alle profitieren sehr von der Kooperation. „Besonders toll war für uns, dass wir hier bei TELE mit der Fertigung im Haus den Schritt vom Prototypen zur Kleinserie gehen konnten. Wir mussten dafür viel definieren, das kostet Zeit, bringt aber auch viel Klarheit z.B. für einen Investorpitch“, erklärt Weihs-Sedivy die Vorteile.

“Sowohl auf fachlicher als auch auf menschlicher Ebene trifft man sich und lernt. Die Prozesse werden sauberer. Bei uns ist auf diese Weise ein Produkt rausgekommen und das funktioniert“, so Hebenstreit.

„Und wir haben von unseren Startups Flexibilität gelernt. Flexibilität, die wir in einer agiler werdenden Welt brauchen. Mittlerweile probieren wir auch einfach Dinge aus und lernen so jeden Tag etwas Neues“, schließt Stelzmann.

Ungenutzten Parkraum erschließen

Microtronics vernetzt Geräte mit dem Internet „Machine to web“ und unterstützt gemeinsam mit dem Kubator Technology Startup Center Startups bei der Umsetzung cleverer Ideen. „In der ersten Phase geht es meist darum, ein Businessmodel zu finden“, erklärt Martin Buber von Microtronics.

„Unsere Schwerpunkte sind IoT- und M2M-Konzepte und wir machen junge Wilde mit guten Ideen in vier Monaten Startup-ready, so dass sie ihr Produkt herzeigen können für Crowfunding, Investoren etc.“

so Buber. Gelungen ist das bei etwa bei Payuca, einem Startup, dass sich um das Parkplatzproblem in der Stadt angenommen hat. „Mit unserem System erschließen wir Parkplätze, die auf privaten Grundstücken hinter verschlossenen Toren schlummern. Um so einen Parkplatz in Anspruch zu nehmen, muss man sich einfach nur unsere App holen, ein Guthaben aufladen, via App einen passenden Parkplatz-Standort finden, hinnavigieren, das private Tor über Bluetooth, BLE, NFC öffnen, hineinfahren und dort auf den gebrandeten Parkplatz stellen. Die Abrechnung erfolgt vollautomatisch“, erläutert Viktor Schaider von Payuca.

Von Fischen und Pflanzen

Ein Alter von fast 150 Jahren schützt keinesfalls vor Innovation. Deshalb kooperiert auch das weltweit mit 9.000 Mitarbeitern tätige KunststoffUnternehmen Greiner Technology und Innovation mit Startups. Wir gehen unter dem Motto ‚Plastics for life’ auch völlig neue Themen, so wie beispielsweise Aquaponic an“, so Hannes Moeseneder von Greiner. Was Aquaponic ist, klärt Gert Zechner vom Startup Ponganic.

„Aquaponic ist eine alte wiederentdeckte Kulturtechnik bei der die Ausscheidungen von Fischen als Dünger für die Gemüseproduktion ohne Erde genutzt werden. Das Wasser wird gefiltert und gelangt wiederum zu den Fischen. Das Besondere daran: Es entsteht ein geschlossener Kreislauf, der auch in einem modernen Wohnhaus installiert werden kann. Demnächst wird die erste Aquaponic-Anlage in ein Haus in Wien integriert, und bildet gemeinsam mit Wohnungen, Co-Working Space, Fab-Lab, Markthalle und Gastro einen Showcase für ein neues Ökosystem“, freut sich Zechner.

Autark wohnen

Theresa Steininger von Wohnwagon hat den Klimawandel zu ihrem Thema gemacht. „Der durchschnittliche Europäer besitzt 10.000 Gegenstände. Um den Ressourcenverbrauch weiterhin zu decken, bräuchten wir 2030 zwei Erden. Was brauchst du für ein gutes Leben?

Wie kann Wohnen in Zukunft aussehen? Wir entwickeln Autarkie-Module, geschlossene Kreisläufe, Containerhäuser, Tiny Houses, Einfamilienhäuser.

Wie das funktioniert? Mit einer Photovoltaik-Anlage und auf IoT-Basis, mit intelligenter Steuerung abhängig vom Wetter. Wir haben auch eine eigene Biotoilette entwickelt, die Wasser reinigt und wieder einspeist in den Kreislauf. Unsere Häuser und Container sind nur mit natürlichen Materialien gebaut, möglichst mit regionalen Partnern“, so Steininger.

Im All und auf der Erde

„Wir wollen die Welt retten. Deshalb haben wir eine Kooperation mit der europäischen Raumfahrtsbehörde und unterstützen sie dabei, Aerosole in der Atmosphäre zu messen. Ein Satellit misst die reflektierte Sonneneinstrahlung. Unser Algorithmus rechnet das in Bilder um. Auf diese Weise können Auswirkungen von Aerosolen berechnet und Prognosen erstellt werden. Außerdem sind wir Softwarepartner von HTT Hyperloop Transportation Technologies, die daran arbeiten, Menschen in einer Art Rohrpostsystem mit über 1.200 hm/h zu transportieren. Als Mitarbeiter wollen wir nur die Besten. Deshalb veranstalten wir jährlich eine Coding Contest und betätigen uns auch als StartupInkubator“, macht Mario Luef Catalysts die Vision der Catalysts deutlich.

IoT und Mode

„Sticklett verbindet Mode mit IT und IoT. Wir haben einen Marienkäfer entwickelt, den besorgte Eltern ihren Babies und Kindern direkt auf der Kleidung anbringen können. Der Marienkäfer ist mit Sensoren ausgestattet, die Vitalfunktionen, wie Temperatur, Atmung, Bewegung oder Herzfrequenz messen und via Smartohone kommunizieren. Setzt die Atmung aus oder hat das Kind Fieber, gibt das System einen Alarm aus“, erläutert Michaela Schicho von Sticktlett.

Wie Große und Kleine zusammenkommen

AAIA – Austrian Angel Investors Association

Die Aaia – Austrian Angel Investors Association ist ein Netzwerk aus Business Angels Investoren und großen Unternehmen, wie etwa die Post AG. Wir ermöglichen Co-Investment in Startups. Ein wichtiger Punkt ist auch Education. So bringen wir den Startups bei, wie sie sich bewerben und präsentieren. Anschließend connecten wir vielversprechende Startups mit Investoren. Ideal ist dabei das Dreierkonstrukt Etabliertes Unternehmen – Startup – Business Angel“, erklärt Lisa-Marie Fassl von Aaia.

Whataventure

Auch Whataventure hilft beim Vernetzen und Wachsen. „We guide Startups. Startups sind innovativ und schnell. Corporates können gut skalieren aber sind nicht so gut in Innovation. Startups können gut innovativ sein und suchen Skalierung. Und sie haben Passion für ein Thema und brauchen Visibility/Publicity. Deshalb ist es so spannend, wenn Corporates und Startups zusammenarbeiten. Wir unterstützen sie dabei“, erklärt Lisa Pecnik von Whataventure.

Wirtschaftsagentur Wien

Einen weiteren hilfreichen Partner finden Corporates und Startups in der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien. „Die Wirtschaftsagentur bietet ein Co-Creation-LabProgramm und sucht dafür noch interessierte Partnerunternehmen. Bis 19.8. dauert unsere Einreichungsphase noch. Dann beginnt ein vierstufiger Prozess, in dem mittlere und große Unternehmen Challenges einreichen können, die von einem Sounding Board bewertet werden. Anschließend werden die formulierten Challenges veröffentlicht. Ab dann sind innovative Technologieunternehmen dazu eingeladen, ihre Lösungsansätze einzureichen. Die Wirtschaftsagentur unterstützt beim Finden des Projektpartners, beim Erstellen des Projektplans und auch bei der Implementierung des Projekts und entsprechenden Fördermöglichkeiten“ erläutert. Georg Sedlbauer von der Wirtschaftsagentur das Programm.

Whataventure

Fragen an uns zu iMM? Wir beantworten sie gerne.

Contact us!